I'm hungry too. Didn't get to play my clarinet at home today. Played a bit at school. Damn, school's taking too much time away from my artistic ventures.
I've mentioned in one of my previous blog posts that I advocate hard work and diligence. In this entry, I shall criticize how we students are overworked and screwed over by our school system.
You may think I'm contradictory. You may think I'm a hypocrite. You may even think that I'm full of shit (which is true) and will cease to read this blog.
I do not believe that I'm being contradictory nor hypocritical. I admit that I am a full-time bullshitter but my BS is substantial.
I am merely trying to convey my sense of balance in our academic careers. You may disagree with me. I do not care. This blog is open to interpretations and contentions.
Let me begin with the basics. School starts too early. WAY too early. Everyday we get up at 6 or 7 in the morning to brush our teeth, get dressed, and wait for the bus. Around 7:45 school starts. This morning routine doesn't seem that bad at first glance. But in context to an average high school kid's life, it is quite a drudgery.
Due to the immense amount of homework and rigor of extra curricular activities, we sacrifice countless hours of our free time to fulfill our obligations as students. The problem is, we are not given enough time to do all these things, let alone any time to relax.
Study halls are futile. They are noisy, distracting, and too crowded. Consequentially, we flock to the school library to study but the admission to the library is strictly limited.
Why have study hall when no one gets studying done? This "class" is unnecessary and only fills up time in our high school schedule. It should be omitted.
Lunch time is too short. It should be at least an hour long everyday. We have 6 classes in one day, each class being an hour long and only a 45-minute lunch period? Preposterous. Lunch, or any other meal is something that should never be rushed. We spend a good deal of time, at most 10 minutes to buy inedible school lunch and grab a seat and eat. That leaves us with 35 minutes to relax. That is NOT enough. We should be given an hour each day in school to completely lose ourselves in our own worlds and forget everything about grades and tests and quizzes. This is not called slacking off. It's renewal. Sharpening the saw.
The reason why we burn out is because we are constantly overworked. I am not saying that we should screw high school and be idle the rest of our lives. I am a hard worker. I think everyone should be a hard worker. But our school system wastes our time with such unnecessary crap such as poster projects and regurgitation of reading assignments, while simultaneously cramming our schedule with stupid study halls and labs. We don't learn anything new by repeating what we did in elementary school, and our brains don't function properly without sufficient relaxation. Please, lose the trivial ceremonies and let's get some real schooling. Let us have a bit more fun and we will repay you by being better students.
To be blunt, school should start at 9 and end at 1. 'Nuff said.
To be blunt, school should start at 9 and end at 1. 'Nuff said.
No comments:
Post a Comment