I remember that I was always writing in a journal or a notebook of some sort when I was a kid. Always scribbling away and drawing in ridiculous cartoons in accordance to the stories that I had written. Creativity overflowed within me when I was a kid. There was not a day in my life that I failed to write a short story or finish a funny little drawing.
I don't write like that anymore. Neither can I draw so freely. Hell, I hardly draw these days. All I do is mope and complain how the world is out to crush me and divide me into a gazillion bits so that I will never again have the motivation to rise up and face my fears. Or is it because I'm just lazy?
Talk about deterioration. Gone are the times when we were curious about everything, when we were truly thirsty for knowledge, when we were active and alive. Now look at us. We look withdrawn, jaded, and dead. Zombies and sluggards. We don't even have the willpower to read books anymore. We prefer to listen to audiobooks.
How many times have I heard people say "I'm working on this play!" "I'm filming a movie!" "I'm writing a novel"? How many of those projects have been finished? Hardly any.
I hate how people, myself included, have so much creative energy, yet they never do anything to make their creativity become a reality. When will this cycle end, this endless Catch-22 of innovation, procrastination, and resignation?
The reason for the downfall of innovation is because we are afraid of failure. We are afraid that the amount of time and commitment we put into a project will turn to dust when the project does not turn out favorably. And even with creativity bursting from within our minds, once we set out to initiate the preliminary procedures necessary for the successful outcome of the project, we feel the gravity of the workload and effort required for the creation of a magnum opus and we procrastinate and give up our dreams. I have experienced this predicament many, many times, and so have others.
Why do we fear failure so much? We never felt this way when we were children. It did not matter who won or lost. It did not matter who was better or worse. Is it our competitive academic environment that has destroyed our child-like thirst for knowledge and achievement? Is it the pressure from our parents? From society?
Why do we have to ace our SAT's? Why do we have to ace anything? Why must we study for exams three hours a night every single day? Why can't we be allowed to rest for a change, to sleep, to breathe, to live? Everyday I come home and I devote myself to hours of aimless studying and review. I would much rather watch a movie or read a book during that time. But duty calls. It's all a phase, I tell myself. Just do it, or fail.